- Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
- What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- When you scratch in pool where do you put the ball?
- What happens if you scratch on the ball before the 8 ball?
- Do you lose when you scratch on the 8 ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- Do pool balls get old?
- What is a scratch in 8 ball?
Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string.
Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win.
You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack.
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game..
What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. 16. On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
When you scratch in pool where do you put the ball?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you scratch on the ball before the 8 ball?
But simply fouling/scratching while shooting at the 8 ball is not game over. It only gives ball in hand anywhere on the table, just like all fouls before it. … Legally pocket the 8-ball without fouling into a called pocket as a separate shot after clearing the table of your assigned group.
Do you lose when you scratch on the 8 ball?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Do pool balls get old?
after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
What is a scratch in 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.