- When can you move the cue ball in 8 ball?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
- Can you hit someone else’s ball in pool?
- Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Can you move the cue ball?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- What are the rules for 9 ball in pool?
- Is there slop in 9 ball?
- Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
- What happens if you hit the cue ball in with the 8 ball?
- What happens if you move a ball in pool?
- Can you move the cue ball after a foul?
- Can you move the white ball off the wall in pool?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?
When can you move the cue ball in 8 ball?
In the event of a foul call, the opposing player receives cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.
This means that the player can place the cue ball anywhere on the table (the cue ball does not have to be behind the headstring except on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break)..
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Can you hit someone else’s ball in pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. 7.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
Can you move the cue ball?
The cue ball may be adjusted by the player’s hand, cue, etc., so long as it remains in hand. … Additionally, if the shot fails to contact a legal object ball or fails to drive the cue ball over the head string, the shot is a foul and the opposing player has ball in hand according to the specific game rules.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent. A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball.
What are the rules for 9 ball in pool?
On each shot the first ball the cue ball contacts must be the lowest-numbered ball on the table, but the balls need not be pocketed in order. If a player pockets any ball on a legal shot, he remains at the table for another shot, and continues until he misses, fouls, or wins the game by pocketing the 9-ball.
Is there slop in 9 ball?
A slop shot can either be legal or illegal depending on the style of game you are playing. … For example, in slop pool, you might shoot at the nine ball in a nine-ball game, miss your pocket entirely, happily bank into another pocket and score a point or win. Players who make lots of slop shots generally are beginners.
Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you hit the cue ball in with the 8 ball?
Balls must remain in a pocket to count as pocketed. If a ball goes into a pocket and bounces back on to the playing surface, it is not considered pocketed. If it is the 8-ball, it is not a win. If it is the cue ball, it is not a scratch.
What happens if you move a ball in pool?
It is not a foul, however, to accidentally move any other balls unless, during his turn at the table, a player moves a ball and it in turn comes in contact with the cue ball. Any balls moved accidentally during a shot must be replaced by the opponent after the shot is over and all balls have stopped rolling.
Can you move the cue ball after a foul?
PENALTY FOLLOWING ANY FOUL If the cue ball has come to rest on the playing surface, then the player having two visits may proceed to play from where the cue ball lies, or the cue ball may be played from any position on or behind the baulk line. Moving the cue ball in this manner does not count as a shot, or visit.
Can you move the white ball off the wall in pool?
Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: … If you scratch/foul during your turn, and the cue is closer to you than your opponent, you may opt take it out of a pocket or the ball return, especially if you happen to be closer to the cue.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?
8-ball rules require that once a group is assigned to a player — by legally pocketing a ball after the break (in most rule sets) — then hitting any other ball first except your assigned group is a foul.